DNAinfo has closed.
Click here to read a message from our Founder and CEO

'Black Swan' Picks Up Best Picture Oscar Nomination

By DNAinfo Staff on January 25, 2011 9:39am

By Gabriela Resto-Montero

DNAinfo Reporter/Producer

MANHATTAN —"Black Swan," a movie exploring the ugly side of Manhattan's dance world, earned several Academy Award nominations on Tuesday.

Natalie Portman, who already won a Golden Globe award for her role in the film, was nominated for Best Actress.

Darren Aronofsky picked up a nod for Best Director, and the movie itself was among 10 films nominated for Best Picture.

Columbia graduate student, James Franco, was nominated for Best Actor for his portrayal of Aaron Ralston, an adventurist who cut off his own arm after a climbing accident, in Danny Boyle's "127 Hours."

Franco's film was also nominated for Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay.

Franco will pull double-duty Oscar night as a nominee and co-host of the evening with actress and New York native, Anne Hathaway.

Downtown resident and anti-fracking activist, Mark Ruffalo, received a Best Supporting Actor nomination for his role in the coming-of-age drama "The Kids are All Right."

Oscar-winner Nicole Kidman received another Best Actress nomination for her role in "Rabbit Hole," a film about a couple's grief over the loss of a child that was first staged as a Broadway play in 2006.

Director Charles Ferguson, whose Iraq war documentary "No End in Sight" was nominated for an Academy Award in 2007, received another Best Documentary nod for "Inside Job", his documentary about Wall Street greed and the economic meltdown.

Armchair critics had predicted that Upper East Side resident and "Wall Street 2" star Michael Douglas would receive Best Actor nods for his role in that film or in "Solitary Man," but he did not receive a nomination.

"Black Swan" will be pitted against "The Fighter," "The King's Speech," "127 Hours," as well as "Toy Story 3," "Inception," "The Kids are All Right," "The Social Network," "True Grit," and "Winter's Bone" for Best Picture.