The DNAinfo archives brought to you by WNYC.
Read the press release here.

9 Brooklyn N Train Stations to Reopen for Manhattan-Bound Service, MTA Says

By Ben Fractenberg | May 17, 2017 6:12pm | Updated on May 22, 2017 7:19am
 Nine Manhattan-bound N train platforms will reopen in Brooklyn on Monday.
Nine Manhattan-bound N train platforms will reopen in Brooklyn on Monday.
View Full Caption
DNAinfo/Jeanmarie Evelly

BROOKLYN — A series of N line stations will finally reopen next week after being closed for more than a year for renovations, the MTA said Wednesday.

The Manhattan-bound platforms at Fort Hamilton Parkway, New Utrecht, 18th Avenue, 20th Avenue, Kings Highway, Avenue U and 86th Street, as well as the full platforms at Eighth Avenue and Bay Parkway, will reopen at 5 a.m. on Monday, May 22, according to the agency. 

The stations, which closed in January 2016, will now have “accessibility-compliant” platforms, new lighting, stairs and paint.

“These stations and right-of-way opened in the 1910s and have been in heavy daily use for more than a century. It’s a vital Brooklyn corridor that needs to be brought into a state of good repair with new amenities and technology such as an upgraded communications system,” MTA Interim Executive Director Ronnie Hakim said in a statement.

“When the work is finished at all nine stations and the tracks that connect them, our customers will see brighter, cleaner and safer stations and experience a smoother, more reliable ride, while our mobility impaired customers will be able to access that part of the Sea Beach line by using new ramps and new elevators.”

The $400 million renovation will continue on Coney Island-bound platforms, which will be closed for work starting in July.