The DNAinfo archives brought to you by WNYC.
Read the press release here.

Amtrak Delays Will Take 'Days' More to Fix After Train Derailment, MTA Says

 A NJ Transit train derailed at Penn Station on Monday at about 9 a.m., officials said.
A NJ Transit train derailed at Penn Station on Monday at about 9 a.m., officials said.
View Full Caption
DNAinfo/Trevor Kapp

MIDTOWN — The LIRR was still facing delays and cancellations Tuesday evening and Amtrak service — and could continue to be disrupted “for days” after the Penn Station train derailment, MTA officials said.

More than 25 LIRR trains were delayed or diverted after the NJ Transit train derailed Monday morning, injuring five people. Amtrak crews were working to repair tracks on Tuesday, which forced Northeast Corridor service to operate on a modified schedule, according to the operator.

“Amtrak has advised us that the repairs to damaged track will take a matter of days, unfortunately,” LIRR President Patrick Nowakowski said in a statement Tuesday.

“Because of that, we must continue to operate on a reduced schedule until all repairs have been safely completed. We have offered support and any assistance they need to help speed these repairs.”

LIRR trains would operate primarily out of tracks 17 through 21, officials said.

Westbound service was suspended from Jamaica to Penn Station from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday and westbound Port Washington trains were terminating at Woodside from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Riders can check the MTA’s website for a list of disrupted trains.

Amtrak customers were advised to expect delays up to 50 minutes during rush hour.

NJ Transit NEC and NJCL trains were operating  on a holiday schedule.

Monday's derailment took place less than two weeks after an Amtrak train derailed while leaving Penn Station.

President Donald Trump again pledged on Tuesday to direct up to $1 trillion to fix the nation's crumbling infrastructure, according to the White House. It was unclear if the president would be able to push a major spending bill through the Republican-controlled Congress.