Quantcast

DNAinfo has closed.
Click here to read a message from our Founder and CEO

Here's When Alternate Side Parking Will Be Suspended in 2016

By Anton K. Nilsson | November 25, 2015 2:54pm
 On some holidays, alternate side parking rules are suspended. Here's the list for 2016.
On some holidays, alternate side parking rules are suspended. Here's the list for 2016.
View Full Caption
DNAinfo/Rachel Holliday Smith

NEW YORK CITY — The Department of Transportation is already looking ahead to next year, announcing the alternative side parking suspension calendar for 2016 on Wednesday.

New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas are considered major legal holidays when alternate side parking rules are suspended along with some other parking regulations. 

The major legal holidays are marked with an asterisk.

2016 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING SUSPENSION CALENDAR

Friday, Jan. 1 — New Year's Day*

Monday, Jan. 18 — Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday

Monday, Feb. 8 — Asian Lunar New Year

Wednesday, Feb. 10 — Ash Wednesday

Friday, Feb. 12 — Lincoln's Birthday

Monday, Feb. 15 — Washington's Birthday (Presidents Day)

Thursday, March 24 — Holy Thursday

Thursday, March 24 — Purim

Friday, March 25 — Good Friday

Saturday and Sunday, April 23-24 — Passover (first and second days)

Thursday, April 28 — Holy Thursday (Orthodox)

Friday, April 29 — Good Friday (Orthodox)

Friday and Saturday, April 29-30 — Passover (seventh and eight days)

Thursday, May 5 — Solemnity of Ascension

Monday, May 30 — Memorial Day*

Sunday and Monday, June 12-13 — Shavuot (two days)

Monday, July 4 — Independence Day*

Tuesday and Thursday, July 5-7 — Eid al-Fitr

Monday, Aug. 15 — Feast of the Assumption

Monday, Sept. 5 — Labor Day*

Monday and Wednesday, Sept. 12-14 — Eid al-Adha

Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 3-4 — Rosh Hashanah

Monday, Oct. 10 — Columbus Day

Wednesday, Oct. 12 — Yom Kippur

Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 17-18 — Succoth (two days)

Monday, Oct. 24 — Shemini Atzereth

Tuesday, Oct. 25 — Simchas Torah

Sunday, Oct. 30 — Diwali

Tuesday, Nov. 1 — All Saints Day

Tuesday, Nov. 8 — Election Day

Friday, Nov. 11 — Veterans Day

Thursday, Nov. 24 — Thanksgiving*

Thursday, Dec. 8 — Immaculate Conception

Sunday and Monday, Dec. 25-26 — Christmas Day*